Pages

Saturday, 3 May 2014

An Open Letter To Aggressive Customers: It Doesn't Kill To Be Kind.

Elite Daily, probably my favorite website that I have come across in the last few months, inspired me to do this. I was also inspired to write this post by a horrible customer that came in today and then made me cry. I'm not an easy crier so this woman definitely took things too far. The only thing I can thank her for is, writing material.

Dear Aggressive Customer,

I would like to begin this letter stating that I know you're not a bad person. Everyone has bad days and sometimes the stress overwhelms you and you lash out. Do I think releasing that anger is a despicable crime? Not at all. It's better to get stuff out there instead of bottling it up. However, when you take it out on others, that begins to ruffle a few feathers.

Sure, you have a better paying job than me. Great, you're a professional with more important responsibilities than I do. But, that doesn't give you any reason to look down upon me and treat me with no respect. While you're sitting at your desk for 8 hours of the day, I'm on my feet, having to deal with more than one of your kind. Imagine, having every second person complain or abuse you for something that isn't your fault. I can tell you this much, it isn't fun.

I don't make the products you are buying. I am merely selling them and trying to keep that smile on my face till the end of the day (or until my next break). I don't have a problem with you voicing your concerns or explaining what has gone wrong, to me. That's not an issue at all, as I am a customer too and I face the same challenges. But, when you start swearing and yelling at me, that is not on. If there's one thing I pride myself on, it's excellent customer service. I won't raise my voice louder, pull immature expressions in your direction or let you leave without providing any assistance. Whether you take my advice or not, it's your choice.

When you get angry at me for asking you to sign up to our club, it's not me purposely trying to annoy you because I get great pleasure out of doing so. It is apart of my job. To be honest, I don't care if you reject me. I will move on and not push you as I know it is your choice. Just say 'no' and I'll leave it at that. There's no need to throw a big scene and make me look like an idiot. You do your job and I'll do mine. Plus, there are bigger problems in the world than me asking you whether you want to register to our club.

If you are disrespected by those in a customer service role, then you have all the reason to get angry. At the end of our day, our job is just to be polite, friendly, approachable, informative and to point you in the right direction. I can only speak for myself but I am not some evil monster trying to steal your money. Remember, I am a customer too. I put myself in your position and try to provide you with the truth. Sometimes, that makes me the worst retail assistant because I'm too honest. But I'd rather you be sure we've what you've got than come back in a couple of months and abuse me.

Finally, I would just like to pose a question to you. Have you ever worked in a customer service role? If not, I'll teach you a little trick. Sure, scaring the retail assistant is a way of getting what you want but that just makes you look like an asshole and you're filling yourself with hate. If you really want first class treatment, just be super nice. 9 times out of 10, we will go above and beyond for you. I sometimes give complimentary things to super nice customers because that's my way of thanking them for making my day better. If you don't want to join the club, just say "no, thank you". And if you really want to get the most out of us, ask us how our day has been. Simple as that. We ask you that all day so when someone asks us, it puts a real smile on our face.

I understand you can be frustrated or disappointed with a product you've bought, but at the end of the day, you bought it. We didn't dig into your purse or wallet and take the money from you. We will do our absolute best to fix the issue but we just need a little kindness from your end. And if you hate us that much, you're more than welcome to stop buying from us. I don't have an issue with that at all.

- Esha

Monday, 28 April 2014

Maybe We're Not Like Serena and Blair. Maybe We Don't Get That "Friendship Fairytale Ending".


Why do we choose to hold on, when there's nothing left to hold onto? 

There was a reason why we called ourselves "Serena and Blair". We thought it was because we perfectly identified ourselves as either one of them, but that wasn't it. It was because our up's and our down's were just as momentous as theirs.

The good times were good. The bad times ... well they were there, but we never acknowledged them. Wait, I did try to once. You know, explain how I felt and where we were heading but I was just being a "drama queen" and I was "drunk". Yes, I had a bit to drink that night. But, that conversation we had, I was completely sober for and I remember everything you said to me, even though you think I've forgotten. 

I'm not the victim. Definitely not. There have been times when I've gone to other girlfriends about issues I've had with you, when I really should've kept them to myself. And I apologize for that. I've never been good with talking about my feelings and when you shut me down, I learned to never do that again. Which has lead me here. A place where I no longer need your friendship.

Once upon a time, I used to get excited to catch up with you. Used to laugh and joke and most of all, used to share exciting news with you first. That's all gone away now. The laughter we share is just over old memories because we've drifted so far apart that we have not made new ones. I guess that's the thing though, we've drifted. Moving in two directions and it was bound to happen. We're also two very different people which doesn't help either. 

There are so many questions I have wanted to ask you. Not in a "this makes you a horrible human being" kind of way, but I just want to understand where you're coming from. Why do you always put you boyfriend first over your best friend? You've been with him not even a year. You've known me for around 8 years. I'm sure he notices that you do that as well. Why do you shut yourself off completely and think life's better when you're miserable? I haven't told you this but your negativity brings me down and drains me. And I've had enough. 

I don't want to end this on an unpleasant note. Because regardless of how I feel right now and where we've come to, I appreciate all the memories and moments we have shared together. Somehow, we lost each other and decided to take different paths. For right now, I think it's best if we take a break. You've taught me so much more than multiple relationships could've ever taught me. Our relationship is one of those that I will not regret nor shudder at the thought of. I will smile when the memories come flooding back but I will feel sadness when I think how it became unfixable. 

Saturday, 26 April 2014

Stick To It. Not With Blu-Tack. But With SuperGlue.


The easy bit is the plan. The hard bit is the follow-through. 

Fear: "an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat". 

I come from a family that fears. Fear of failure. Fear of the world. Fear of others. Fear of disappointment. Lately, I've been thinking about moments in my life where fear has shadowed my wants and lead me to back down. Like all those times at camp where I watched the others climb, sail and hike because I was too scared to do so. I'm not saying fear is a bad thing. Fear keeps you safe and a lot of the time, has your best interests at heart. Kind of like a mother. But sometimes you've got to fly the coop and move into the house of "thrill".

My decision has been made and it seems as though it is final. My mum still thinks I'm kidding and I'm just saying this to wind her up, but she is very mistaken. Next year, I am going to travel. I said it. It's out there. I can't back down. Well, I can because it's my life and all but I'm going to try not to. Traveling was always what I wanted but the fear of traveling solo, language barriers and security was what stopped me from expressing it. 

What's changed? I realized I need to have a little more confidence in myself. If I don't believe in me, no one else will. I'm a good kid. I know right from wrong and I'm smart enough to not make decisions that will lead me into the situations that I fear. Got to give myself a little more credit. 

I'm still in the early stages. Plans have not been finalized and I'm still not sure exactly what I'm going to do or where I'm going to go. The focus right now is to finish university with good grades, make some money and try not to have any more panic attacks about the future. 

Thursday, 24 April 2014

Wanderlust.

It's obvious I seek summer, sun, sand and water. Well besides from the last picture of Oxford Street in London. I just love London. 
















Mr. One In A Million.


There's probably plenty of "Mr. One In A Million"'s out there for me. But he's the only one I've met so far. 

You could say my track record with guys hasn't been the greatest. Is it really considered a track record if I've never had a boyfriend? I'm 20 and I've never had a boyfriend. To some that's depressing. To me, it's a bit of a blessing in disguise. I don't like to place labels on things until I know for sure it's the real deal. 

This blog post isn't meant to be a story about all my trials and tribulations with the boys/men I've encountered in my life so far. If it was, it would be so much easier to write. This blog post is about "Mr. One In A Million". 

I think the title is quite confusing in itself. In our lives we will not just come across only one "Mr. One In A Million", but probably multiple. "Mr. One In A Million" has quite a nice ring to it, don't you think? I don't mind being an open book. Judgement is slowly becoming something I no longer fear and I'm always up for a good non-fiction story, and I'm sure others are too. Thus, let me begin my tale of "Mr. One In A Million".

I barely knew him prior to 2013. Sure, we went to the same high school and we both acknowledged each others presence, but I never thought he'd be a guy that would make a mark on my life. Our "friendship" started off quite strangely. We bonded over our fondness of Tinder, our bad life choices, my embarrassing slut drops and his phobia of Squiggles. He told me about his caterpillar to butterfly transformation, his close relationship with his family and what he really wants out of life. I never thought we could have so much in common and neither could he. 

We haven't spent a lot of time together or speak frequently but when we do, it just clicks. The banter is on point, the smiles make an appearance and the butterflies go mental (well in my stomach they do). I knew he had a lot of girls "around" him but somehow he made me feel I was different from the rest. Like, I wasn't just "one of his girls". I think the fact that I didn't show any sign of wanting and yearning to be with him, made me stand out. He probably wasn't used to it. 

Inconsistency was a problem with "Mr. One In A Million". We would go weeks without talking and I would forget how it felt to talk to him or the feelings I had, then boom. A text would appear on my phone. As simple as a "Hey Lil' Shit, what's up?" would give me butterflies all over again. To explain the "Lil' Shit" nickname is nearly impossible and can only be understood by the both of us. I got to a stage where the roller coaster was too much. He'd take me right to the top, thinking there was something there and then let me drop. The problem was, it was never his fault. It was my own. He didn't know how I felt and he didn't know what he was doing to me. 

I got and am at that stage where I'm tired of feeling like this. I could come out and tell him how I feel but I don't want to wreck what we've already built. Because losing something you never thought you'd have is worse than losing anything at all. My whole summary about us is "He's my one in a million but I'm not his". It makes me sad and angry, but not at him. He is such an amazing guy who deserves the world that I hope he finds someone who makes him feel as happy as he makes me feel. I can only hope I find another "Mr. One In A Million" sometime soon. All I can do now is get on with life, love and appreciate our friendship and make even the smallest inkling on his life like he has made on mine.

Dear Mr. One In A Million, you're something special. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. 

The Intern Group.

http://www.theinterngroup.com/
When I thought I couldn't get more conflicted than I already am, this comes along.

If you couldn't already tell, I'm a bit of an erratic human being. One day I'll be really into something, the next day I'll be completely over the idea of it. Unfortunately this happens with everything, from boys to what I am craving for dinner that evening. 

Last night I was so set on the idea of pursuing Life Before Work (LWB) once I finish university. I watched pretty much all of the Youtube videos and thought this was exactly what I wanted to do. Of course, being the indecisive and unpredictable specimen that I am, I've found something else that has caught my eye. 

The Intern Group is described as an organization that endeavors to "empower & educate individuals, regardless of socioeconomic status, to intern and travel any where on the globe cost-effectively, and leverage the latest technology to share their experiences with others around the world". If that all sounds like gobbledy-goop to you, it's literally just a program where you pay money to intern for a recognized organization in the field you are interested in, in another country. 

When I was doing more research about this, I thought "Hey! This is perfect! I'm conflicted over whether I want to travel or work. I'm pretty much doing both here!". As amazing and rewarding as the program sounds, I'm still not sure if it's quite for me. Is it too late for me to intern? Was that a thing you do while you're still at university? Granted I am still at university but I am in my final year and oh so close to finishing, why would I take time off now?

If you've got the money and the time, I definitely think this is a great option for those soon to begin university or are still in their early to mid stages of university. To get that experience in some of the most competitive fields out there is truly valuable. Also, the ability to do this abroad will allow you to create some amazing connections and develop yourself personally. 

I can honestly say I have never been so confused and conflicted about my future in my life until now. The real problem lies in the fact I don't even know what I want. So torn between the power of money and need for freedom and exploration. I know time is on my side but I fear one day I will wake up and think "Was that all a waste?". I'm optimistic that I'll eventually come to a decision but it's going to take a lot of thought and reflection to reach it. 

To those out there who feel me, we'll work it out ... eventually. 

Tuesday, 22 April 2014

The Power To Choose.


Looking in the mirror and seeing a completely different person. But that different person is who you truly are. 

Have you ever looked back on things you've done or said and thought "why?". That was me every night before I went to bed and had those mini counseling sessions to myself, while trying to get to sleep. After the many disasters of 2013, a change was in order and it could only be done by me. I don't regret 2013 in the slightest. To be honest, it was a blessing in disguise. I learned a lot about myself, my family, my friends and of course, boys. The lessons that came out of that year were the fuel to ignite a new me. Not just a new me, but the real me.

I've shocked a couple of people this year. Apparently, I'm a completely different person and they would've never thought I could or would ever be this way. The word "different" has been thrown around but not once has anyone said they dislike the person I have now become. That thought makes me smile because the person that I feel like I'm growing into, is my true self and it's amazing to know they love me for the real me. 

You must be thinking, "what the hell was she like before?". I haven't had a full 360 change but it's definitely been a noticeable change. Where to begin? The exterior has had some work. The girl that once wore a full face of makeup and thought "comfort" was the spawn of satan, rocks a bare-face and Converse on a daily basis. Obviously, the cake face comes out occasionally but it no longer comes out for purposes of hiding. I'm shit at art, and makeup is the only creative thing I'm half decent at so I'll play around once in awhile. In saying that, do what makes you happy and what makes you feel confident. Whether that be spending hours on your face or nothing at all. I'm no longer preoccupied over what others wear or how they look, if they're happy, they should go for it. On that note, my friend recently said to me "she dresses like a slut but still acts all Christian and shit" about another girl. The way you dress, doesn't define you. Only you define you. 

I'd say my personality and attitude hasn't changed dramatically. I'm still loud mouthed, slightly cheeky and completely clumsy but I'm a little more observant. Observant to other peoples feelings, thoughts and beliefs. We're all individuals for a reason. Although, I may not agree with another persons opinion, I will respect that, that's their opinion. And also hope that they respect mine. I've also come to understand that you can only control your own feelings and thoughts but you can't control others. However, sometimes you shouldn't have to control your feelings and that's okay. Don't feel guilty about crying over a guy. It's made you upset and you being upset is not a little problem that can be brushed to one side. Everyones allowed their moments and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. 

There's obviously more to the story but this is just the beginning. What I'm aiming to get across is, its never too late to become the person you want to be. The person I was in my made up scenarios before I went to bed, was not the person I was. I like "made-up" me better than "reality" me so I took the power in my hands, and made that change. It's not an overnight process but more like a work in progress. I'm not exactly where I want to be, but I'll get there eventually. With positive and supportive people around me, happy vibes, good music and things that make me smile, you can get to where you want to be.